Supermodel Miranda Kerr’s Beauty Secret: Noni Juice

About a week ago my sister told me that she had read about an interesting juice that she wanted to try. She admires Miranda Kerr and read an article about the supermodels love of Noni Juice. Kerr says “it’s not only great for your skin, but it’s also great for your general well-being.” My sister was intrigued, so kept reading about it and found that Noni Juice is somewhat of a miracle health supplement. She has been drinking the juice for about a week now, and inspired me to try it as well. Before I get into my initial impression of Noni Juice I’ll explain just what Noni is and outline a couple of it’s buzzed about benefits. 

What is Noni:

Noni is actually a tropical fruit found in the South Pacific that has been used for thousands of years as a natural medicine. This is what the Noni fruit looks like!

Image

 

Nutrition:

Noni Juice is amazing for the immune system and contains powerful antioxidants such as vitamin C, vitamin A, niacin and iron. The polysaccharides, fatty acids and protein in Noni also contribute to a generally healthy and balanced diet. The antioxidants and anti-inflammatories found in Noni have anti-aging benefits that can help users look and feel younger for longer.

Digestive Health:

Noni helps cleanse the digestive tract and improves digestion. Because of this Noni is an effective  but be careful, Noni has traditionally been used as a laxative, as well as a natural treatment for constipation, diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, gastric ulcers, food poisoning, dysentery and colic. 

Weight Loss:

The weight loss benefits of Noni are not scientifically proven (nor are most of it’s health benefits), but many Noni users have experienced weight loss and swear by Noni. Noni Juice could cause weight loss because drinking the juice increases the amount of nitric acid in the body, which increases the amount of triglycerides that are removed from fat cells. This results in weight loss. I’m not sure if this is more effective in people who have more weight to lose, or if it will help anyone lose that extra bit of weight and tone up their body.

Antibacterial:

Because of it’s antibacterial and antifungal properties many people use Noni as a natural treatment for acne and scalp irritation. Many claim that it also helps soothe dry and irritated skin. 

Image

My Noni Experience: 

Image

 

This is the Noni Juice that I purchased at Market of Choice for around $20. There are many different Noni Juice’s on the market for slightly different prices, but most of them range from $15 to $40 based on where the juice is imported from and where it’s being sold. After I bought the Noni the first thing I did was smell it (my sister had warned me about the pungent smell) and I was slightly shocked by just how bad it smelled. It’s not really a smell that’s easy to describe, you’ll just have to smell it for yourself! After that I read the bottle and determined that I would begin by drinking 30ML in the morning, 30 minutes before eating. It also recommends doing the same at night but I’m slowly working up to that. The first morning that I drank the juice I poured it into a shot glass (about 30ML) and drank it straight. It was probably the most disgusting thing I have ever tasted. After that I started taking my shot of Noni Juice with a chaser of a little bit of pineapple juice which really helps take the flavor away. Orange juice also works. I have only been taking it for a few days so I haven’t seen any results yet but most Noni users claim the benefits of Noni juice usually can’t be seen for at least 3 weeks to a month, so I’ll stick with it. The first week is also usually when users experience Noni’s detox benefits so it can cause an upset stomach (be ready to head to the bathroom quite a bit). Overall I’m excited about continuing this experiment with Noni Juice and I’ll keep updating my blog with any results or changes I see after drinking the juice for longer. 

Cheers to Health!

 

One thought on “Supermodel Miranda Kerr’s Beauty Secret: Noni Juice

  1. Pingback: Noni Super Juice - Smile Herb School

Leave a comment